Denver DUI Defense Lawyers
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or illicit drugs is incredibly dangerous. If a police officer stops you for suspicion of DUI and confirms your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit, you will likely face arrest and a criminal charge for a DUI violation. Many factors can influence the penalties you could face for a DUI, and a criminal defense attorney can make a significant difference in the outcome of a DUI case in Denver, CO.
Why Hire Varner Faddis to Defend Your DUI Case?
The attorneys at Varner Faddis Elite Legal, LLC have extensive experience with Colorado’s criminal justice system and understand how DUI cases work. Founding Partner Eric Faddis has handled hundreds of DUI/DUID cases, both as a prosecutor and defense attorney, and the law and potential defenses, as well as the shortcomings of the government’s case. Our attorneys believe in open communication with our clients, so we can provide honest and constructive feedback and information about your case as it unfolds. We also know the mitigating factors that can work in a client’s favor, potentially reducing jail time, fines, and other penalties.
You may wonder why you need to hire a lawyer, especially if the court offers to provide a public defender free of charge. Not everyone will qualify for a public defender, and while many public defenders offer great representation, they often carry large caseloads and field many clients at once. When you hire a private defense firm you will have close contact with your attorney and will likely receive more robust legal counsel than a public defender is available to provide.
DUI Laws in Colorado
In Colorado, the per se legal limit for DUI is a BAC of .08%. If a police officer conducts a traffic stop based on reasonable suspicion that the driver committed a traffic or other violation, and proceeds to administer a breathalyzer test or blood test that reports a BAC of .08% or higher, the officer will arrest the driver for DUI. In Colorado, the penalty for a first-time DUI offense is a nine-month driver’s license revocation, $600 to $1,000 in fines, up to one year in jail, up to 96 hours of community service, and required attendance in an alcohol education course.
All drivers in Colorado have given express consent for a police officer to administer a breath, blood, or urine-based chemical test to measure BAC after a justified traffic stop. Drivers give this consent by default while driving motor vehicles in Colorado. If a driver suspected of DUI refuses a chemical test, he or she may be subject to a one-year driver’s license suspension as well as penalties attendant to the criminal case. Drivers under 21 caught with BAC of .02% to .05% face automatic license revocation.
Preparing a DUI Defense
There are several defenses available to those charged with DUI in Colorado. If a driver can prove he or she was not actually driving at the time of the arrest, such as by sleeping in a parked vehicle, this may help him or her avoid a DUI conviction. A person charged with DUI may also argue that the police officer who conducted the arrest did not actually have reasonable suspicion to initiate a stop or probable cause to request a test or conduct an arrest. A defense attorney can also help you challenge the validity of the chemical test and identify any applicable medical defenses. Determining any constitutional violations can also improve one’s chances of a positive outcome in a DUI/DUID case. The best thing you can do to protect your rights is to hire a criminal defense attorney who can advise you of your best available defenses.
Contact Us Today – We Can Help
The Denver defense attorneys at Varner Faddis Elite Legal, LLC understand the implications of a DUI charge and want to help protect our clients’ rights, so contact us today for a consultation about your DUI case and learn how we can help.
6025 South Quebec St.
Centennial, CO 80111